Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Chandrapur Municipal Election Final Results: BJP wins 36 seats, Congress bags 12

Friday April 21, 2017 11:29 PM, News Network

Chandrapur Result Today

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has emerged clear winner in Chandrapur winning 36 of the tota 66 wards whereas the Congress could win just 12 seats, according to election update released by the state election commission Friday..

As per Maharashtra election update at 04:30 pm, the NCP and Shiv Sena have won in 02 ward each and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won 08 seats. 06 seats went to Independents and others in Chandrapur. The AIMIM could not win a single seat in Chandrapur.

In Chandrapur Municipal Corporation which has a total 66 seats.

As per 2012 election results, Congress won in 26 wards, BJP in 18, Shiv Sena in 05, NCP in 04, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) in 01, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in 01, Bhartiya Bahujan Singh in 01 and 10 Independents.

Live Updare:
03:15 pm
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to emerge as clear winner in Chandrapur with a lead in 32 of the tota 66 wards whereas the Congress is in a position to win just 17 seats, according to trended available at 03:15 pm.

Trends at 03:15 pm, the NCP is ahead in 02 wards whereas theShiv Sena is leading in just 01 ward.

12:00 pm
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress continue to be in neck and neck battle in Chandrapur with the BJP showing a thin lead as compared to its rival.

According to trends at 12:15 pm, BJP is ahead on 12 wards whereas the Congress is leading on 07 of the total 66 seats.

11:15 am
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress are in neck and neck battle to wrest power in Chandrapur Municipal Corporation where counting of votes is still underway.

As per the latest update, the BJP has won 04 seats whereas Congress has been able to win 03.

Elsewhere in the city, 04 candidates of BJP and Congress both are ahead of their rivals.

10:00 am
Counting of votes to elect the new body of 66-member Chandrapur Municipal Corporation (CMC), also called as Chandrapur Mahanagar Plaika, has begun amid tight security.

The process in Chandrapur began with counting of postal votes. After counting of postal votes are over, the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will start releasing the election results.

The Chandrapur Municipal Corporation officials have also made arrangement at the civic body to show live results to the media persons.

The trends are expected to start coming in an hour's time.

08: 50 am Counting of votes to elect the new body of 66-member Chandrapur Municipal Corporation (CMC), also called as Chandrapur Mahanagar Plaika, is scheduled to begin today i.e. Friday April 21, 2017 at 10:00 am, an election officer said. Chandrapur went to polls on Wednesday, recording 57 per cent voter turnout in the election held under intense heat.

Along with Chandrapur, Parbhani and Latur Municipal Corporations also went to the poll on Wednesday. Counting of votes in all these civic bodies will start at 10:00 am today, the election officer added.

In Chandrapur Municipal Corporation which has a total 66 seats, Congress has 26, BJP 18, Shiv Sena 05, NCP 04, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) 01, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 01, Bhartiya Bahujan Singh 01 and 10 Independents.

Besides the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), other parties in the fray are Shiv Sena, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Asaduddin Owaisi led All India Majlise Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) which is contesting the Latur local elections for the first time.

In Chandrapur, Shiv Sena has fielded 61 candidates, of them 03 are Muslims. They are Irfan Ahmed Shaikh (Ward No 10), Basheer Khan (Ward No 12) and Sultan Ahmed Shaikh (Ward No 06).

The AIMIM is contesting the Chandrapur Municipal Corporation elections in alliance with Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi and Shetkari Sangathna.

Around 62 per cent turnout was registered in the polling held today for the Chandrapur, Parbhani and Latur municipal corporations in Maharashtra, State Election Commissioner J S Saharia said.

Due to extreme heat conditions prevalent in several parts of the state, the voting timing was extended by one hour to 6.30pm by the state Election Commission.

“Chandrapur, Parbhani and Latur recorded 57 per cent, 70 per cent and 60 per cent voting, respectively. Around 62 per cent people exercised their franchise in the polls today,” Saharia said.

The elections to three municipal corporations are considered as an acid test for the ruling BJP and the Opposition Congress and the NCP.

A total of 1,285 candidates are in the fray for the 201 seats in the three municipal corporations, whose fate will be decided by 7.93 lakh voters across 1,038 polling stations.

The stakes are high especially for the BJP as it is not in power in these three municipal corporations.

Chandrapur is the home turf of senior BJP leader and Finance Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar. At present Congress is in power in this 66-member civic body.

As many as 460 candidates are in the fray whose fate will be decided by 3.02 lakh voters. In the 70-member Latur corporation, it will a test of political clout for BJP leader and state minister Sambhajirao

Nilangekar and the local Congress MLA Amit Deshmukh.

Congress, which controls the corporation, had got a drubbing in the recent local body polls in Latur district.

The city had faced acute water crisis last year and government had to transport water by railway waggons at the peak of summer.

Here 407 candidates are in the fray whose fate will be decided by 2.78 lakh voters.

In the 65-member Parbhani municipal corporation, the battle is mainly between the incumbent NCP and Shiv Sena.

It will be a test for district guardian minister and senior Sena leader Diwakar Raote. There are 418 candidates in the fray; number of voters is 2.12 lakh.

Share this page
More Headlines
Malegaon, Bhiwandi and Panvel civic body polls on May 24; Counting of votes on May 26
The moment you question the government, you become anti-national: Justice Shah
We are well trained to execute near-fatal attacks on potential targets, Cow vigilantes boast in sting
Israel celebrates 50 years as occupier
Dhaka varsity fires canteen owner for serving beef to Hindu students
Chhattisgarh CGBSE Class 10 Results 2017 to be declared on Friday at
CLAT 2017 Admit Cards released online, Click here to know how to download
Mild painkilling drug may not help patients with peripheral vascular disease
Kerala SSLC results 2017 delayed, likely to be declared in first week of May
Those scared of dentists are more likely to have tooth decay
AP EAMCET 2017 Hall Tickets released at, Click here to download
From destruction of wombs to liberators of Muslim women: Politics of Hindutva
Palestinian journalists eye Guinness Book of Records for longest radio broadcast
'Potentially hazardous' asteroid passes by earth keeping sky gazers glued
UPSC: e-Admit cards for Engineering Services Main Exam 2017 available for download
BSE Odisha Class 10 results 2017 likely to be declared in last week of April at
Those involved in 'shameful demolition of Babri Masjid' are now running the nation: Asaduddin Owaisi
Modi, RSS using Babri Masjid case to remove LK Advani from Presidential race: Lalu Yadav
Advani, Joshi, Uma Bharti and others to be tried for conspiring Babri Masjid demolition

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of