Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

BJP MLA Anil Gote quits, to cheallenge Subhash Bhamre in Dhule

Polling for the 2019 Election in Dhule, Malegaon and other areas will be held on April 29, 2019

Monday April 8, 2019 8:11 PM, ummid.com & Agencies

Subhash Bhamre vs Anil Gote Dhule

[Following the strong protest led by Gote and blockade of Mumbai-Agra Road on December 12, 2007, a fresh survey was ordered by the railway ministry under Lalu Prasad Yadav. (ummid.com File Photo)]

Dhule (Maharashtra): In a pre-poll shock, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA from Dhule Anil Anna Gote quit the party and as MLA here on Monday.

The former journalist-turned-politician has announced that he will contest the Lok Sabha elections as an Independent from Dhule-Malegaon Parliamentary Constituency, directly challenging BJP candidate and Union Minister of State for Defence Dr Subhash Bhamre.

"I have submitted my resignation to party chief Raosaheb Danve-Patil and as legislator to the Speaker of the Assembly. I plan to file my nomination as an Independent candidate from Dhule parliamentary seat" on Tuesday, Gote told the media.

The 71-year-old three-time legislator's anticipated move came nearly six months after he started expressing unhappiness with the party leadership on various internal and political issues.

Anil Gote had in 2007 led a massive campaign for Manmad-Malegaon-Dhule-Indore Railway line. As a result the project was sanctioned by the Raliway Ministry. Recently, Gote had also accused Bhamre of misleading the people of the constituency over the Indore Manmad railway project.

In a rebellious move, in December he formed the Loksangram Party and contested the Dhule municipal council elections against the BJP but the latter swept the polls. Later, in March, Gote met his political foe of 25 years, Nationalist Congress Party Sharad Pawar, fuelling speculation that he would join the NCP.

Anil Gote was earlier elected as MLA on a Samajwadi Party ticket in 1999, was arrested in connection with the infamous multi-thousand crores rupees Telgi fake stamp papers scam. Though he was never convicted, he spent four years in jail till his release in June 2007 on health grounds and later filed a discharge plea which was rejected by Bombay High Court in 2011.

The main perpetrator of the stamp paper scam, Abdul Karim Telgi, 56, died in October 2017 following kidney failure in a Bengaluru jail.

Earlier that year, he had raked up a major row by demanding that the Upper House of Maharashtra Legislature should be scrapped and the entire Opposition had demanded action against his remarks.

Dhule Lok Sabha Seat

After the implementation of the presidential notification on delimitation on 19 February 2008, Dhule Lok Sabha constituency comprises six Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments. These segments are Dhule Rural, Dhule City, Sindkheda, Malegaon Central, Malegaon Outer and Satana (Baglan).

Malegaon comes in Nashik district. It was a separate Parliamentary Constituency reserved for SCs till the delimitation when it was murged with Dhule Lok Sabha seat and made Open. Malegaon and Satana are in Nashik district while Dhule is a different district. Dhule Lok Sabha seat is therefore among some of the typical seats that include assembly segments from two different districts.

Dr Subhash Bhamre has won the 2014 Lok Sabha elections defeating Amrish Patel of Congress by over 01 lakh votes. Bhamre had got a total of 529,450 votes whereas Amrish Patel could bag 398,727 votes. Nehal Ahmed Haroon Ansari was on 3rd position in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Polling for the 2019 Election in Dhule, Malegaon and other areas will be held on April 29, 2019. Counting of votes will be done on May 23, 2019. Dhule Outer MLA Kunal Patil is Congress candidate in Dhule.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com