Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

04 Muslims in BJP first list of 184 candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Abdul Khader is the BJP candidate from Lakshadweep (ST) Parliamentary constituency

Friday March 22, 2019 0:03 AM, ummid.com News Network

BJP's first list for 2019 Lok Sabha Polls

New Delhi: 04 Muslims - all from Muslim dominated Kashmir Valley and Lakshadweep, are figured in the Bhartiya Janata Party's first list of 184 candidates who will contest the 2019 Parliamentary elections on the party's ticket.

According to 184 names decided by he Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), M M War will contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Baramulla, Khalid Jahangir will contest from Srinagar and Sofi Youssaf has been fielded from Anantnag in Jammua and Kashmir.

Abdul Khader is the BJP candidate from Lakshadweep (ST) Parliamentary constituency.

Among others who have been included in the list are Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi, BJP President Amit Shah from Gandhinagar and Union Minister Subhash Bhamre from Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha seat.

Former BJP President LK Advani is representing Gandhinagar in the Lok Sabha. The BJP has however replaced him with Amit Shah. Amit Shah will contest the Lok Sabha elections for the first time.

Among other prominent faces included in BJP's first list, which had 184 names across 20 states, are Union Ministers Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur, Gen. VK Singh (retd) from Ghaziabad, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (Jaipur Rural), Satyapal Singh (Baghpat), and D.V. Sadananda Gowda (Bengaluru North). All are sitting MPs from these seats.

Union Minister Smriti Irani will again contest the election against Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, while film actress-turned politician Hema Malini will contest from her Mathura seat.

Union Minister Babul Supriyo will fight to retain his Asanol seat, where he will face Trinamool Congress's Moon Moon Sen. The BJP has also fielded Bengali film actress Locket Chatterjee from Hooghly.

BJP's Kerala strongman Kummanam Rajasekharan, who recently quit as Mizoram Governor, will contest the election against Congress's Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvanthapuram. On the other hand, Union Minister KJ Alphons will contest from Ernakulam.

The Pathanamthitta seat, where the Sabarimala temple is located, has still not been decided. There seems to be jostle within the party between state BJP president PS Sreedharan Pillai and state general secretary K Surendran.

The BJP also fielded its Tamil Nadu unit chief Tamilisai Soundararajan from Thoothukudi from where DMK's K. Kanimozhi is contesting.

The 2019 Lok Sabha polls, to be held in seven phases across the country, begin April 11. The counting of the votes will be held on May 23, 2019.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com