Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Imran Pratapgarhi, Naseemuddin Siddiqui to fight 2019 LS Polls as Congress candidates

Imran Pratapgarhi will try his chance to enter the Indian Parliament from Moradabad

Saturday March 23, 2019 6:34 PM, ummid.com News Network

Imran Pratapgarhi with Rahul Gandhi

New Delhi: Popular Urdu poet Imran Pratapgarhi and once the Muslim face of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Naseemuddin Siddiqui have been fielded by the Congress party to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh.

While Naseemuddin Siddiqui, who had resigned from BSP in 2018 to join Congress has been fielded from Bijnor, Imran Pratapgarhi will try his chance to enter the Indian Parliament from Moradabad.

The Congress had earlier finalized Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee Chief (UPCC) Raj Babbar to contest from Moradabad. But, he has now been shifted to Fatehpur Sikri in Agra district Parliamentary Constituency.

Raj Babbar was elected from Agra as its Lok Sabha MP twice -- in 1999 and 2004. However, following delimitation in 2008, the Lok Sabha seat became reserved for the scheduled castes. Babbar got re-elected to Lok Sabha from Firozabad in bye-elections held in 2009.

The BJP has fielded Raj Kumar Chaher from the seat. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) led by Asaduddin Owaisi has fielded Mohammed Idrees Ali to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from the Fatehpur Sikri parliamentary seat.

Mohammad Idrees Ali is president of AIMIM unit of Agra district in Uttar Pradesh.

Fathehpur Sikri parliamentary constituency comprises of five assembly seats including Agra Rural, Fatehpur Sikri, Kheragarh, Fatehabad and Bah - all in Agra district of Uttar Pradesh.

As per 2012 record, the constituency has a total of 15,17,983 voters.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Choudhary Babulal of the BJP had bagged 4,26,589 votes, defeating Seema Upadhyay of BSP who got 2,53,483 votes and Rani Pakshalika Singh of Samajwadi Party (SP) who got 2,13,397 votes.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have decided to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections forming an alliance. They have not yet finalised any candidate on this seat.

On the other hand, Moradabad Lok Sabha constituency comprises five Vidhan Sabha segments Barhapur, Kanth, Moradabad Nagar, Moradabad Rural and Thakurdwara. Kanth and Thakurdwara assembly segments before 2008 were in erstwhile Amroha and Rampur Lok Sabha constituencies respectively. The current MP of Moradabad is Kunwar Sarvesh Kumar Singh.

Bijnor Lok Sabha constituency, from where Naseemuddin Siddiqui is contesting the election, comprises five Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments. Bijnor, Chandpur, Hastinapur from Meerut disrict, Meerapur from District Muzaffarnagar and Purqazi from Muzaffarnagar district.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded its sitting MP Kunwar Bharatendra Singh from Bijnor. The SP-BSP joint candidate from here is Malook Naagar.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com