Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Begusarai Lok Sabha: In Kanhaiya-Tanveer tug of war, Giriraj Singh sees a safe future

Polling in Begusarai will be held on April 29 in 4th Phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Monday March 25, 2019 8:53 PM, Zohair M Safwan, ummid.com

Begusarai Kanhaiya Kumar

Begusarai (Bihar): So its official. Kanhaiya Kumar will be contesting the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Begusarai Parliamentary Constituency in Bihar as CPI-M canddate.

Begusarai is dominated by Bhumihar community, is the home town of Kanhaiya Kumar, the former JNU Students' Union President who came to fame after he was arrested in a sedition case.

Kanhaiya Kumar was born into an upper caste Bhumihar community in January 1987 and brought up in the village of Bihat near Barauni in Begusarai district. He was elected to the 125-member party national council of the Communist Party of India (CPI) On 29 April 2018.

With 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Kanhaiya Kumar has formally joined the active politics. However, contesting the election does not mean that he has a guaranteed entry into India's Parliament. For, he is facing two strong opponents - Tanveer Hassan of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Giriraj Singh of Bharitya Janata Party (BJP).

Begusarai is considered a Left wing bastion. But, the left parties have won elections from here only once in the past 16 terms when Yogendra Sharma of CPI (M) won in 1967. On the other hand, Congress candidates won Lok Sabha election from Begusarai 08 times, Janata Dal (United) 02 times, Rashtriya Janata Dal and BJP each won only once.

Earlier, it was expected that RJD and Congress - the two parties which have formed an alliance with other smaller parties, will accomadte Kanhaiya Kumar. But, ignoring him, RJD announced candidature of Tanveer Hassan as the alliance candidate from Begusarai.

As RJD candidate from Begusarai, Tanveer Hassan bagged a whopping 3.69,892 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. But, he lost the seat to Bhola Singh of BJP who got 4,28,227 votes. Analysts said Tanveer Hassan lost the poll also because of Rajendra Prasad Singh of CPI (M) who secured 1,92,639 votes.

Interestingly, in 2009 Parliamentary Elections, Dr. Monazir Hassan had won from Begusarai despite Shatrughna Prasad Singh of CPI (M), Anil Chaudhary of LJP and Amita Bhushan of Congress respectively getting 1,64,843, 1,21,786 and 74,565 votes.

Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency comprises seven Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) segments. They are Cheria Bariarpur, Bachhwara, Teghra, Matihani, Sahebpur Kamal, Begusarai and Bakhri. Polling in Begusarai will be held on April 29 in 4th Phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Justifying the party's decision not to support Kanhaiya Kumar from Begusarai RJD sources the former JNUSU leader has less chances of standing up Giriraj Singh. Kanhaiya's Bhumihar caste may be more inclined to back Giriraj Singh, RJD sources said.

Kanhiaya Kumar on the other hand said he will contest the elections without weakening the coalition of opposition parties. But, there are other who beleive that he will still garner enough votes to block Tanveer Hassan's entry into the Parliament. Amid this tug of war between the two, Giriraj SIngh must be waiting for a brighter future.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com