Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Voting begins for Delhi assembly
Wednesday December 4, 2013 8:11 AM, IANS

Voting began at 8 a.m. Wednesday to decide the fate of 810 candidates contesting for the 70-member Delhi assembly in what is being seen as a largely triangular contest between the ruling Congress, opposition Bharatiya Janata Party and new entrant Aam Aadmi Party.

Over 11.9 million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise. Burari with 23 candidates has the largest number of contestants in the fray while Patel Nagar is at the other end with just four candidates.

Polling is taking place amid heightened expectations of a better quality of life by residents of the national capital.

Three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit led the Congress poll effort in the capital. The BJP has doctor-politician Harsh Vardhan as its chief ministerial candidate while engineer-turned taxman-turned political wannabe Arvind Kejriwal is the face of the AAP.

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar were among the leaders who addressed rallies in the capital.

The campaign saw hectic efforts by all contestants amid predictions of a hung assembly by many pre-poll surveys.

Delhi had recorded 57.58 percent polling in 2008.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.