Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
90-member Haryana assembly will have 03 Muslim legislators
Tuesday October 21, 2014 7:55 PM , Agencies

The newly elected 90-member Haryana assembly with the majority of MLAs belonging to the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) will have just 03 Muslim MLAs, according to the results announced after counting of votes Sunday.

The thress Muslim MLAs are Naseem Ahmed of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), who defeated Independent Mamman Khan in the Ferozpur Jhirka seat by 3,245 votes, Zakir Hussain of INLD who defeated his nearest rival Aftab Ahmed of INC by 32,796 votes in Nuh, and Rahish Khan, an independent candidate, who won the Punahana seat. Rahish Khan defeated his nearest rival Mohammed Ilyas of the INLD by a margin of 3,141 votes.

This number is down two from five MLAs in 2009.

The BJP won 47, the INC 15 while there are as many as 5 independents. The Haryana Janhit Congress won two seats while Shiromani Akali Dal and Samajwadi Party won just one seat each.

There were 27 other Muslim candidates, none of whom could win the election.

In 2009, Akram Khan of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had defeated Subhash Chand at Jagadhri; Naseem Khan from Ferozpur Jhirka and Mohammed Ilyas from Punahana had won on INLD tickets.

Aftab Ahmed of Congress had won the Mewat seat while Congress' Dharambir had won the Sohna seat.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.