Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Okhla MLA Mohammad Asif among 56 finalised by Congress for Delhi polls
Tuesday November 12, 2013 11:32 AM, IANS

The Congress Monday declared the names of candidates for 56 constituencies, retaining all its sitting legislators for the Dec 4 Delhi assembly polls, the party said in a statement.

The Delhi assembly has 70 seats.

Of the remaining 14 seats where the incumbent party did not clear its candidates, 12 are with the BJP and one is held by the Indian National Lok Dal.

With three-time Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit being given the ticket from her bastion, New Delhi, the constituency would see a triangular contest: BJP leader Vijender Gupta is also contesting from New Delhi, and AAP's chief ministerial candidate Arvind Kejriwal has also decided to fight from this constituency.

Interestingly, Okhla legislator Mohammad Asif, over whose candidature reservations were earlier expressed for his alleged criminal record, has also been given a ticket.

It was Dikshit who, according to sources, had supported his candidature while other party leaders were against him.

Earlier, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi had made it clear that no candidate with a criminal record would get a party ticket.

The BJP has declared 58 candidates, while its old ally Shirmonai Akali Dal (Badal) will contest from four seats.

Aam Aadami Party has announced over 65 candidates.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.