Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » 2021 Assam Assembly Election Result

AIUDF wins 16 seats in 2021 Assam Elections

Overall tally shows the ruling NDA alliance led by the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to retain power in Assam

Monday May 3, 2021 8:39 AM, ummid.com with inputs from IANS

AIUDF Result 2021

Assam Election Result 2021: The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has won a total of 16 seats in 2021 Assam Elections, according to the final result publsihed by the State Election Commission.

Live Update

05:00 pm The AIUDF of Badruddin Ajmal Qasmi is leading in as many as 16 assembly constituencies where counting of votes is still underway.

According to the Election Commission data, AIUDF has won 11 seats and is leading in 5 other seats.

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had contested the 2021 election is alliance with the Congress and other parties.

The AIUDF had won a total of 13 seats in 2016 election when it fought the polls alone. In 2011 state polls, the AIUDF had won 18 seats – again contesting alone.

AIUDF partner Congress on the other hand is leading in 29 assembly seats.

Overall tally shows the ruling NDA alliance led by the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to retain power in the state.

As per the latest update, BJP and allies are leading in a total of 73 seats. The complete list of winning candidates will be available soon.

10:30 am The ruling BJP-led NDA is heading to retain power in Assam for the second time in a row as the alliance is leading in 68 seats in the 126-member assembly for which three-phase polling ended on April 6.

According to the Election Commission's initial trends of the results, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party alone is leading in 51 seats while its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) in 10 seats and United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) is leading in 07 seats.

The opposition Congress has established initial leads in 21 seats while its partners Bodoland Peoples Front is leading in 02 seats and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) in 09 seats. An independent candidate is leading in one seat.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and AGP chief and minister Atul Bora are leading from Majuli, Jalukbari and Bokakhat seats respectively.

Congress Legislative Party leader and his deputy Debabrata Saikia and Rakibul Hussain both are trailing from Nazira and Samaguri seats respectively.

"Counting of votes for 126 seats"

The counting of votes for 126 Assembly seats in Assam for which polling was held in three phases began on Sunday morning in 34 districts amid tight security and all Covid-19 Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs).

Assam Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nitin Khade said counting of votes are being held in 50 Election Districts (34 administrative districts) and there are three tiers of security put in place in and around the counting centres and adjoining areas. "To maintain Covid protocols and guidelines issued by the Election Commission, numbers of counting halls have been increased by 131 per cent -- from 143 in 2016 Assembly election to 331 this time," the CEO said.

In all, 946 candidates including 74 female candidates of different political parties including BJP and the Congress contested the elections.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Google News

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com