Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » 2019 Lok Sabha Election

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Campaigning ends for 1st Phase

The first phase will cover all the Lok Sabha constituencies in 10 states and Union Territories

Tuesday April 9, 2019 6:07 PM, ummid.com & Agencies

1st Phase Lok Sabha Election

New Delhi: The hustle and bustle of campaigning came to an end on Tuesday in 91 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 20 states and Union Territories which will go to the polls on Thursday marking the start of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise.

As the clock struck 5 p.m., the election rallies and street corner meetings ceased in the 91 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

The first phase will cover all the Lok Sabha constituencies in 10 states and Union Territories.

These include all the 25 Lok Sabha seats of Andhra Pradesh, 17 seats of Telangana, five seats of Uttarakhand, two seats each of Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Meghalaya and one seat each of Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Andaman and Nicobar as well as Lakshadweep.

The first phase will also cover Uttar Pradesh's eight out of 80 Lok Sabha seats, four out of 40 seats of Bihar and two out of 42 seats of West Bengal.

The 08 seats of Uttar Pradesh that will go to polls in the first Phase are Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddha Nagar, and 04 seats in Bihar are Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui.

Polling in all the 91 seats across 20 states and Union Territories will be held on Thursday April 11, 2019. The Election Commission has fixed poll timing for Nizamabad in Telangana from 08:00 am to 06:00 pm in view of large number of nominations and 07:00 am to 04:00 pm for extremists-affected polling stations while it is 07:00 am to 05:00 pm for the rest.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com