Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Business & Economy
Bihar adopts GST, Madhya Pradesh convenes Special Assembly Session to ratify the Bill

Monday April 24, 2017 7:56 PM, & Agencies

New Delhi/Patna/Bhopal: A day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi asked the state governments to make arrangements for speedy Goods and Services Tax (GST) rollout, both the Houses of Bihar Legislature unanimously adopted GST and Madhya Pradesh government convened a day-long Special Assembly Session to do the same.

Along with GST Bill, Bihar also passed the Bihar taxation (Amendment) Bill.

With the passage of GST Bill by both the Houses on Monday, Bihar became second Indian state after Telangana to pave the way for roll out of the GST from July 1, 2017.

In the Legislative Assembly, bills related to GST were taken up in pre-lunch session and with ruling JD(U), RJD, Congress and even opposition BJP and its NDA partners in support of GST bill, it was adopted through voice vote, according to PTI.

The Madhya Pradesh government on the other hand has convened a day-long Special Session of the State Assembly on May 3 to ratify the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill-2017.

"The session convened in February-March this year was not concluded. So this special meeting would be a continuation of February-March session," he added.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had on Sunday said the states should make legislative arrangements "without delay" for GST rollout from July 1.

Delivering the closing remarks at the third meeting of the Governing Council of Niti Aayog, he also urged states, local governments and NGOs to decide goals for 2022 and work in mission mode towards achieving them.

"The Prime Minister reiterated that the legislative arrangements at the state-level for GST should be put in place without delay," an official statement said.

The Parliament on April 6 passed four legislations to pave the way for roll out GST from July.

Share this page
More Headlines
Cow Vigilantes strike again, this time brutally attack 9-yr-old girl, four others in Jammu
NASA's Cassini spacecraft to take slingshot dive inside Saturn's rings
NEET 2017 Admit Cards released online, You must know this before Download
Consuming diet soda daily ups three times risk of dementia, stroke
Early detection of oral cancer can increase survival chances
Vivek Murthy asked to resign as US Surgeon General to pave the way for Trump man
NEET 2017 Admit Card: CBSE website down, facing technical issue
Israeli youths hold barbecue near Palestinian hunger strikers to break their spirit
Chhattisgarh Class 10 topper Chetan Agrawal never joined coaching classes
Suspension reports add to anxiety of candidates waiting for CBSE UGC NET Jan 2017 results
Will Babri Masjid case help Modi wipe off stains of Gujarat riots? UAE newspaper thinks so
AIMIM routed in Latur, Prabhani civic elections; Setback to Owaisi's expansion plans
Chhattisgarh CGBSE Class 10 Results 2017 declared at, Click here to check
Congress set to sweep Prabhani Municipal elections, leads in 31 wards
BJP wins 38 seats in Latur Municipal Elections, Congress bags 31 seats, NCP ends with 01
Will CGBSE declare Class 12 results 2017 today on April 21 as it did last year?
Malegaon, Bhiwandi and Panvel civic body polls on May 24; Counting of votes on May 26
The moment you question the government, you become anti-national: Justice Shah
We are well trained to execute near-fatal attacks on potential targets, Cow vigilantes boast in sting
Israel celebrates 50 years as occupier
Dhaka varsity fires canteen owner for serving beef to Hindu students
Chhattisgarh CGBSE Class 10 Results 2017 to be declared on Friday at
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of